Friday, August 19, 2011

Justin Lassen's first Symphony (2003) Re-Released FREE full Chamber Suite Download!


It’s hard to believe that it has been 8 years since the release of “And Now We See But Through A Glass Darkly” [2003], some of my most treasured work, which Billboard and Playboy called “…a masterpiece.” and put me on the map so many years ago. It helped open up all sorts of opportunities over the years. It’s thanks to this 17-track, 35 minute dark chamber symphonic masterpiece that I am where I am today.

“ANWSBTAGD” not only helped my career, but earned me some of the coolest fans and listeners around the world and got me featured in notable magazines like Playboy, Billboard, ReGen, etc. It was my first iconic effort into dark classical music, specifically chamber music, chamber recording and romantic raw classical instrumental and performances. Also my first time playing violin! It was one of my first solo experiences with live orchestra and well, orchestrating! I sang all the layers of vocals in it, and used quite primitive equipment!


I had no big intentions for it, it just sort of took on a life of its own over the years. The original limited edition 1,000 copies sold out in 2003 faster than I could have imagined! I put it up for download free after, with no commercial intentions and I just wanted to get the music out there! And out there it did! I could have never dreamed that by now it received over 105+ Million downloads world-wide and got me interviewed in top magazines, radio stations and shows around the planet… not to mention helped me meet a lot of my heroes in the music industry and supportive fans all over!

40MB Download Below!

It’s raw, it’s dark, but most importantly ,it’s really genuine, and it really defines me in a big way. It’s still kind of a puzzle that many have left to solve. These mp3s have been circulating on dozens of websites, P2P networks, pirate sites, FTPs, and I wanted to re-release it in a easy to find friendly site. I found and wanted to give it a try, it seemed really easy and I liked their mission… free music! If you already have the symphony, cool, if not, re-download and enjoy all over again, this timeless suite. Thank you all!

Friday, August 5, 2011

Justin Lassen featured in August Siggraph 2011 Visual Adrenaline Magazine!

va10-magazine-32Intel® Visual Adrenaline magazine has tracked the career of digital musician Justin Lassen since our earliest editions. For this issue, we checked back with Justin and talked to his artistic friends to learn what technology has done for them lately. Justin introduced three of his digital heroes: Kirsi Salonen, Alex Ruiz, and Erlend Mørk.” – VA Magazine, August 2011

pages_siggraph_visualadrenaline_2011I’m happy to say that I got featured in this months Visual Adrenaline Magazine and share the pages with DreamWorks, World of Warcraft, The Creators Project and other amazing creators of fine digital artwork and technology!

I brought along a few of my talented friends into the spotlight with me! I’m proud and honored to share the limelight with the lovely and gifted Kirsi Solonen from Finland (whom painted that monster on my shoulder up above!), the mega talented Alex Ruiz from Los Angeles, CA (whom is a constant collaborator of music/art with me) and the uber-darkly inclined and otherworldly Erlend Mork from Norway (apart of the Synaesthesia series!)!

Great little read, with a group of cool artists that I respect immensely. Enjoy!

The magazine is distributed at Siggraph 2011 by Intel this year in Vancouver, B.C., Canada but YOU can download a PDF (15MB) of it anytime you want!

Thursday, August 4, 2011

Justin Lassen Remixes for Shawn Clement’s Quantum Quest Motion Picture Soundtrack!

Quantum_Quest_BSXCD8884I'm super proud of my good friend Shawn Clement, composer and musician extraordinaire who created a beautiful and magnificent score with an 80 piece Skywalker Symphony Orchestra up in San Francisco at the Skywalker Scoring Stage for this movie. He asked me to do a special Justin Lassen remix for the soundtrack release which I am honored to be apart of! Thank you Shawn and everyone should go check this movie out! My remix is Track 24: “The Quest (Justin Lassen Remix)”!* – preview clip below!

Quantum_Quest_(2009)QUANTUM QUEST: A CASSINI SPACE ODYSSEY is set in a scientifically accurate rendering of our solar system in 3D stereoscopic. The audience is taken on a simulated solar safari, exploring the outer planets and moons of our solar system.

BUYSOUNDTRAX Records presents the original soundtrack to QUANTUM QUEST: A CASSINI SPACE ODYSSEY, featuring music composed by Shawn K. Clement for the 2009 animated science fiction/adventure film from Jupiter 9 Productions and Digimax, Inc., featuring the voice talents of actors Chris Pine, Samuel L. Jackson, Hayden Christensen, Amanda Peet, Robert Picardo, Jason Alexander, Sandra Oh, Brent Spiner, James Earl Jones, William Shatner, Mark Hamill, Doug Jones, Abigail Breslin, Spencer Breslin, Gary Graham and astronaut Neil Armstrong.


1. Cassini (0:45)
2. Anti-Matter (1:32)
3. Sun City / The Game (3:09)
4. Opportunity To Serve (0:43)
5. Departure Station (1:43)
6. The Core (1:09)
7. The Battle (1:12)
8. Ignorant Moronic Fools (1:03)
9. The Void (1:37)
10. Ghost Fight (0:42)
11. Incoming (0:53)
12. Fate Of Trillions (2:04)
13. Dave in Space (1:03)
14. Fear / The War Machine (3:23)
15. Ring City (0:33)
16. Are You Milton? (1:16)
17. Destroy The Dave, Destroy The Light (1:52)

18. Cassini Commander (0:42)
19. Flipping Switches (1:23)
20. Destroy Me (1:00)
21. Operation Photon Extermination (3:15)
22. The Message / Dave Delivers (4:16)
23. Universe of Possibilities (2:14)
24. The Quest (Remix)* (5:21)
25. The Message / Dave Delivers (Demo) (4:10)
26. The Message (Remix)** (6:32)
* - Remix by Justin Lassen
** - Remix by Audnoyz
Published by Clemistry Music Publishing, ASCAP
Total Time: (54:38)